top of page

The Paving Project: Soul Stones

This talented artist and calligrapher pursued a journey that touches the soul. Creativity is such a personal path for many of us, so please enjoy this read from Susan Houseman, from Susan Houseman Designs.






Written by Susan Houseman, Calligrapher from Susan Houseman Designs


I’ve been a professional calligrapher for many years, I had practiced my trade using different tools on unconventional materials. I learned the fundamental principals and then added my own style and interpretation. As I developed my style and skill I found people asking me to teach classes as well as doing commission work.


My journey in calligraphy and hand lettering all developed while still a newlywed. It seemed I was seeing calligraphic artwork everywhere, for example, whenever I would be out shopping or at the library or art galleries. Most of what I saw was too expensive and, being a creative person, I figured I would make my own art! Creativity has always been intertwined in my daily life, so it just made sense to learn about calligraphy. What a journey it has been! My life has been enhanced in ways I could have never anticipated! It’s been my mission to learn something new every year, to feed my muse with new options and new techniques. By doing this I’ve had to challenge myself and overcome my own insecurities. I would force myself out of my comfort zone to stay fresh and allow my curiosity to find new ways to express my lettering.


Most recently, my curiosity was peaked when I stumbled upon the art of engraving. It was just as I had embarked on this new lettering adventure that I experienced a tremendous loss. My creativity had come to a stand still as I processed what was truly meaningful to my life. My insecurities became more pronounced and I wrestled with some big questions like: “What’s the point any way?” “Should I just get a day job and move on?” All those deflating and defeating thoughts had welled up inside.


But, one day when I was shopping in a local craft store I stumbled upon some glass stones in this beautiful blue color. They spoke to me, I was completely captivated by the color. My muse was so inspired, I purchase them and started engraving on them as soon as I got home.


The dam had burst open and my creativity was back! I had discovered how I could combine my calligraphic skills to engrave on this new medium. Stones. And it was these stones and this new engraving process that spoke to my soul.


At this point I realized I had developed something special for myself and hopefully this would translate and speak to others. I have named my stones, Soul Stones. The stones come in little bags made by me with 3 or 4 stones. Each bag will have unique words engraved on each stone inside that I hope will surprise and delight the receiver by speaking to their soul.






How can I get my own Soul Stones?

The stones come in a group of 3 or 4 stones. A bag can be customized based on a word or theme. Another option could be the client being open to a “ surprise bag” of stones that might just be the words they needed or didn’t expect but were meaningful at that moment in their lives. Of course, they could also just hand pick each soul stone to include in their bags. A bag of 3 rocks is $16 and bag of 4 rocks $20. Each stone is hand engraved and the gold is added to the letters. The bags are individually hand lettered and made by me as well.


You can reach out to Susan here for your own Soul Stones, or for some calligraphy services here:







63 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page